Navin Chawla takes over as Chief Election Commissioner

Navin Chawla, presently an Election Commissioner has taken over as a Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India today. Chawla is a 1969 batch IAS officer and will be in charge as a CEC till Jul. 29, 2010.

N Goplaswami, CEC retired on Monday after holding the office for five years whereas; V S Sampat presently power secretary has taken over as Election Commissioner.

It is the first time that any CEC demitted office in the midst of an election process. While Gopalaswami oversaw the first phase of the five phased general elections, Navin Chawla will preside over the remaining four phases.

Share this post:

Leave a Comment