Nagaland Lok Sabha Election Results 2024

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Get the latest updates on the Nagaland Lok Sabha Election Results 2024. The election saw a voter turnout of 57.72% with S. Supongmeren Jamir of the Indian National Congress (INC) emerging as the winner. Dr. Chumben Murry of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) came in second place. The election was marked by issues such as the demand for a separate administration for Eastern Nagaland, employment and development, and religious appeals. The results reflect the diverse political landscape of Nagaland, with the INC and NDPP being prominent parties. Read the detailed results, including the number of votes secured by each candidate, to understand the implications of the election on the state’s politics

The Nagaland Lok Sabha Election Results 2024 were announced on June 4, 2024. The election was held on April 19, 2024, and the voter turnout was 57.72%.

Winning Candidate – Indian National Congress (Nagaland)

S.No Parliament Constituency Winning Candidate Total Votes Margin
1 Nagaland(1) S SUPONGMEREN JAMIR 401951 50984

विजयी अभ्यर्थी – इंडियन नेशनल काँग्रेस (नागालैंड)

क्रम संख्या संसद निर्वाचन क्षेत्र विजयी अभ्यर्थी कुल मत अंतर(मार्जिन)
1 नागालैंड (1) S SUPONGMEREN JAMIR 401951 50984

The results show that S. Supongmeren Jamir of the Indian National Congress (INC) emerged as the winner, securing 401951 votes. Dr. Chumben Murry of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) came in second place, losing by a margin of 50984 with 350967 votes. Key Points:

  • Winner and Runner-up:
    • Winner: S. Supongmeren Jamir (INC) – 401951 votes
    • Runner-up: Dr. Chumben Murry (NDPP) – 350967 votes
  • Voter Turnout:
    • The voter turnout was 57.72%.
  • Previous Elections:
    • In the 2019 election, Tokheho Yepthomi of the NDPP won the seat with 500510 votes, defeating K. L. Chishi of the INC by 16344 votes.
    • In the 2014 election, Neiphiu Rio of the NPF won the seat with 713372 votes, defeating K. V. Pusa of the INC by 400225 votes.
  • Other Candidates:
    • Hayithung Tungoe Lotha, an independent candidate, finished in third place with 6232 votes.
    • The “None of the Above” (NOTA) option received 1646 votes.
  • Party Assets:
    • Dr. Chumben Murry (NDPP) had assets worth Rs. 4,72,02,380, while S. Supongmeren Jamir (INC) had assets worth Rs. 21,00,868.
  • Criminal Antecedents:
    • Hayithung Tungoe Lotha (IND) had criminal antecedents.
  • Regional Significance:
    • The Nagaland Lok Sabha election is significant as it reflects the diverse Naga tribes and their languages, cultures, and customs. Christianity dominates the state’s social fabric, and the population is predominantly rural and engaged in agricultural pursuits.
  • National and Regional Parties:
    • The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Indian National Congress (INC) are prominent national parties, while the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and Naga People’s Front (NPF) represent major regional interests.
  • Electoral Scenario:
    • The election saw three contenders vying for the sole seat of Nagaland: the NDPP, INC, and an independent candidate. The NDPP was part of the People’s Democratic Alliance, a regional version of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

​The key issues in the Nagaland Lok Sabha election 2024 were:

  1. Separate Administration for Eastern Nagaland: The Eastern Nagaland Public Organisation (ENPO) demanded a separate administration for six districts in Eastern Nagaland, leading to a boycott of the elections and a total shutdown in these regions. This issue significantly impacted the voter turnout in these areas.
  2. Employment and Development: The election focused on issues related to employment and development, with the candidates emphasizing their plans for improving the socio-economic conditions of the people in Nagaland.
  3. Religious Appeal: The Nagaland CEO issued a notice to Congress candidate S. Supongmeren Jamir for making an appeal to voters on religious lines, which was seen as a significant issue in the election.
  4. National and Regional Politics: The election was part of the larger national political landscape, with the BJP-led NDA and the INC-led INDIA bloc competing for power. The opposition criticized the BJP for being a disproportionate beneficiary of the electoral bonds scheme and for alleged hate speech.
  5. Voter Turnout: The voter turnout was significantly lower in the six districts of Eastern Nagaland, which experienced a total shutdown and a “call to abstain” from elections. This region accounts for over 30% of the state’s population and 20 out of 60 seats in the Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

About Author

Ritu Singh seasoned news hunter with ink in veins and truth as a compass. Cuts through spin, exposes hidden agendas, decodes power plays. Unwavering voice for accountability, amplifying unheard stories. A watchdog who sleeps with one eye open, keeping democracy on its toes

Leave A Reply