Assam Lok Sabha Election A Closer Look At Constituency Results 2024

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), secured 11 out of 14 seats in the state. The BJP’s allies, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), are leading in one seat, while the United Peoples’ Party Liberal (UPPL) has won one. Meanwhile, the Congress (INC) from the INDI Alliance secured three seats.

BJP’s Sarbananda Sonowal is ahead in Dibrugarh by nearly 2.4 lakh votes. In Dhubri, Rakibul Hussain leads by nearly 5.4 lakh votes.

In the 2019 general elections, the BJP won nine seats, the Congress won three, and the All India United Democratic Front and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) each won one seat.

Here’s a complete list of leading candidates in the northeastern state. Final results have been declared for seats in bold. Keep checking to find out who won which seat.

Party Wise Assam Election Results 2024

Party Wise Results
Party Won Leading Total
Bharatiya Janata Party – BJP 9 0 9
Indian National Congress – INC 3 0 3
United People’s Party, Liberal – UPPL 1 0 1
Asom Gana Parishad – AGP 1 0 1
Total 14 0 14

Winning Candidate – Bharatiya Janata Party (Assam)

No Parliament Constituency Winning Candidate Total Votes Margin
1 Darrang-Udalguri(4) DILIP SAIKIA 868387 329012
2 Guwahati(5) BIJULI KALITA MEDHI 894887 251090
3 Diphu(6) AMARSING TISSO 334620 147603
4 Karimganj(7) KRIPANATH MALLAH 545093 18360
5 Silchar (8) PARIMAL SUKLABAIDYA 652405 264311
6 Kaziranga(10) KAMAKHYA PRASAD TASA 897043 248947
7 Sonitpur(11) RANJIT DUTTA 775788 361408
8 Lakhimpur(12) PRADAN BARUAH 663122 201257
9 Dibrugarh(13) SARBANANDA SONOWAL 693762 279321


Winning Candidate – Indian National Congress (Assam)

S.No Parliament Constituency Winning Candidate Total Votes Margin
1 Dhubri (2) RAKIBUL HUSSAIN 1471885 1012476
2 Nagaon(9) PRADYUT BORDOLOI 788850 212231
3 Jorhat(14) GAURAV GOGOI 751771 144393

Winning Candidate – United People’s Party, Liberal (Assam)

S.No Parliament Constituency Winning Candidate Total Votes Margin
1 Kokrajhar (1) JOYANTA BASUMATARY 488995 51583

Winning Candidate – Asom Gana Parishad (Assam)

S.No Parliament Constituency Winning Candidate Total Votes Margin
1 Barpeta(3) PHANI BHUSAN CHOUDHURY 860113 222351

विजयी अभ्यर्थी – भारतीय जनता पार्टी (असम)

क्रम संख्या संसद निर्वाचन क्षेत्र विजयी अभ्यर्थी कुल मत अंतर(मार्जिन)
1 दारंग-उदालगुड़ी(4) दिलीप शइकीया 868387 329012
2 गुवाहाटी(5) BIJULI KALITA MEDHI 894887 251090
3 डिफू (6) अमरसिंग तिस्सो 334620 147603
4 करीमगंज(7) कृपानाथ मल्लाह 545093 18360
5 सिलचर (8) परिमल शुक्लबैद्य 652405 264311
6 काजीरंगा(10) कामाख्य़ा प्रसाद तासा 897043 248947
7 सोनितपुर(11) रनजीत दत्ता 775788 361408
8 लखीमपुर(12) प्रदान बरुवा 663122 201257
9 डिब्रुगढ़(13) सर्बानंद सोणोवाल 693762 279321

विजयी अभ्यर्थी – इंडियन नेशनल काँग्रेस (असम)

म संख्या संसद निर्वाचन क्षेत्र विजयी अभ्यर्थी कुल मत अंतर(मार्जिन)
1 धुबरी(2) रकिबुल हुसैन 1471885 1012476
2 नगांव(9) प्रध्दुत बोरदोलोई 788850 212231
3 जोरहाट(14) गौरव गोगोई 751771 144393

विजयी अभ्यर्थी – युनाईटेड पीपुल्स पार्टी, लिबरल (असम)

क्रम संख्या संसद निर्वाचन क्षेत्र विजयी अभ्यर्थी कुल मत अंतर(मार्जिन)
1 कोकराझार (1) JOYANTA BASUMATARY 488995 51583

विजयी अभ्यर्थी – असम गण परिषद (असम)

क्रम संख्या संसद निर्वाचन क्षेत्र विजयी अभ्यर्थी कुल मत अंतर(मार्जिन)
1 बरपेटा(3) फनी भूषन चौधुरी 860113 222351

Factors Influencing the Outcomes

BJP-led NDA: The strength and cohesion of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), will be a significant determinant. The BJP’s alliances with regional parties like the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) could consolidate their voter base.

Opposition Unity: The ability of opposition parties, including the Indian National Congress (INC) and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), to form a unified front will impact their electoral strength. Fragmentation among opposition parties could benefit the ruling alliance.

2024 Lok Sabha Polls: State-wise Voter Turnout

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced a 65.79 per cent overall voter turnout in the recently concluded Lok Sabha Elections. According to the ECI’s official statement, the current voting percentage does not include postal ballots. The breakdown of voter turnout shows that male participation was 68.80%, while female turnout was 65.78%.

The ECI also noted that comprehensive statistical reports, including postal votes and total voter turnout, will be available on their website once all details from various States and Union Territories are finalised.

Among the regions, Lakshadweep had the highest voter turnout at 84.16%, while Bihar had the lowest at 56.19%, followed closely by Uttar Pradesh at 56.92%. Maharashtra, with the second-highest number of parliamentary seats (48), reported a turnout of 61.33%. Assam, with 14 Lok Sabha seats, had a high turnout of 81.56%.

In a press conference on June 3, the ECI highlighted that the 2024 Lok Sabha elections were notable for setting a world record with 642 million Indian voters participating. Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar celebrated this achievement, calling it a historic moment in global electoral exercises.

For context, in the 2019 elections, over 91.20 crore Indian voters were eligible to vote, with 61.5 crore exercising their franchise.

Final Thoughts

The 2024 Assam elections have solidified the Bharatiya Janata Party’s dominance, securing 11 out of 14 seats, with allies AGP and UPPL clinching one each. Congress managed three seats, showcasing a continued but limited presence. Sarbananda Sonowal’s resounding lead in Dibrugarh and Rakibul Hussain’s significant victory in Dhubri are emblematic of BJP and Congress’ strongholds, respectively. The NDA’s unity and strategic alliances were instrumental in this triumph, while opposition fragmentation hindered a more substantial challenge. With a record-breaking voter turnout nationwide, Assam’s enthusiastic 81.56% participation underscores the electorate’s active engagement in shaping India’s political landscape.


About Author

Ritu Singh seasoned news hunter with ink in veins and truth as a compass. Cuts through spin, exposes hidden agendas, decodes power plays. Unwavering voice for accountability, amplifying unheard stories. A watchdog who sleeps with one eye open, keeping democracy on its toes

Leave A Reply